What's On

Box Office Opening Times:

Mon 10am to 5pm
TueSat 10am–8pm**
Sun Closed
*Open until 8pm on show days
**Open until 6pm on non-show days

Theatre Opening Times:

Mon 10am–5pm*
TueSat 10am–11pm**
Sun Closed
*Open until 7.30pm on show days
**Open until 6pm on non-show days

 

Brochure

 

Access For All

Providing access for all has been key in our redevelopment project, is an essential part of what we do, and our mission as a theatre. We welcome all theatregoers and provide an extensive range of services. 

Our facilities include:

  • Level entrances to our Foyer with automatic doors. Box Office features a low counter.
  • A lift to Studio, Main House, Dress Circle and theatre bars.
  • Accessible toilets at ground floor and Dress Circle levels.
  • Wheelchair spaces are available in the Stalls and Dress Circle of the Main House and in the Studio. Please request a wheelchair at time of booking. For customers with limited mobility, our Box Office staff can advise on the best areas to sit and whether there are any steps to navigate.
  • Assistance Dogs are welcome in all areas of the theatre. A complimentary dog sitting service is available subject to availability. Please request this service at time of booking.
  • Hearing Impaired. A loop system is available in the Main House only. Head sets are available from Box Office.
  • Baby changing facilities are available in the accessible toilets. 
  • Buggy park facility is available.
  • Limited Blue Badge parking is available on Duncombe Place, at the rear of the theatre.

Concessions are available for patrons with disabilities.

Holders of a Max Card are eligible for up to two free children with a full paying adult at the following shows:

Cloud Tales Tuesday 12 June

Me & My Bee Wednesday 13 June

Dinosaur World Live Wednesday 13 - Thursday 14 June

Chocolate Cake Saturday 16 June

Keepy Uppy Wednesday 20 - Friday 22 June (weekdays only)

The Secret Garden Friday 27 July - Saturday 25 August

PLUS 10% discount in the cafe


To order an audio transcribed or large print version of the Summer 2018 brochure please email marketing@yorktheatreroyal.co.uk

Audio described, captioned and BSL interpreted performances are available for many performances with pre-show Touch Tours for audio-described shows also available, usually taking place an hour before the performance starts, please book in advance through the Box Office.

For further information call 01904 623568 or email marketing@yorktheatreroyal.co.uk       


 

UPCOMING ACCESS PERFORMANCES


The Be All & End All

AD: Thursday 17 May, 7.30pm | Saturday 19 May, 2.30pm
BSL: Friday 11 May, 7.30pm
CAP: Saturday 19 May, 2.30pm
Relaxed: Thursday 17 May, 2pm


Monogamy

AD: Saturday 26 May, 2.30pm


Birdsong

AD: Saturday 09 June, 2:30pm


The Secret Garden

AD: Thursday 23 August, 7pm | Saturday 25 August 2.30pm
BSL: Saturday 18 August, 2.30pm
CAP: Saturday 25 August, 2.30pm
Relaxed: Thursday 16 August, 2.30pm


The Habit Of Art

AD: Saturday 08 September, 2.30pm


An Inspector Calls

AD: Saturday 22 September, 2.30pm
 

The Grand Old Dame Of York

AD: Thursday 24 January, 7.30pm | Saturday 26 January, 2.30pm
BSL: Thursday 17 January, 7.30pm | Saturday 19 January, 2.30pm
CAP: Saturday 26 January, 2.30pm


Audio Described (AD): Audio Described performances for the blind and partially sighted. Headsets are available from Box Office and Touch Tours are often available 1 hour before performances.
British Sign Language (BSL): British Sign Language interpreted performances.
Captioned (CAP): Captioned performances for the deaf, deafened and hard of hearing.
Relaxed: Audiences can move around freely, leave and enter the auditorium as needed, the lights never go completely dark and the sound effects are softened. These performances are open to all, but are designed to welcome people with an autistic spectrum condition, learning disability, dementia or sensory and communication disorders and to give those who might otherwise feel excluded the chance to experience live theatre.

NB: It is recommended to book tickets for Audio Described performances at least 24 hours in advance.