• Theatre Tour and Cream Tea

Event Details

Sat 14 Apr - Sat 22 Sep

Time: 3pm on selected Fridays | 10.30am on selected Saturdays

Running Time: 75 minutes

Venue: Around the Theatre

Ticket Information: £10 including tea and scones

Book Tickets

Theatre Tour and Cream Tea

York was the largest Roman town in northern England, and the site of York Theatre Royal fell within the city walls, an original section can be seen across the road. Through the medieval period, the site was used as a hospital and for the site of a mint – a theatre was built in 1744, and has been producing and displaying work ever since. Come and join us to find out more about the fascinating history of theatre in York and learn why there is a Georgian folly backstage, why a stage is a called a deck and why you should never whistle in a theatre.

Our expert tour guides will lead you on a 75 minute tour of the whole theatre site, before tea and scones are served in our upper foyer. 

Please note that due to the number of stairs involved on the tour, it is not currently possible to accommodate customers with impaired mobility.

Please contact Box Office on 01904 623568 or boxoffice@yorktheatreroyal.co.uk for any dietary requirements.


TOUR DATES

MAY
Sat 19th May, Fri 25th May, Sat 26th May

JUNE
Fri 8th June, Sat 9th June, Fri 29th June, Sat 30th June

JULY
Sat 14th July

AUGUST
Fri 3rd August, Sat 4th August, Fri 10th August, Sat 11th August, Fri 24th August, Sat 25th August

SEPTEMBER
Fri 7th September, Sat 8th September, Fri 21st September, Sat 22nd September