• Theatre Tour and Cream Tea

Event Details

Sat 05 Jan - Sat 29 Jun

Time: 3pm on selected Fridays | 10.30am on selected Saturdays

Running Time: 75 minutes

Venue: Around the Theatre

Ticket Information: £12 including tea and scones

Book Tickets

Theatre Tour and Cream Tea

York was the largest Roman town in northern England, and the site of York Theatre Royal fell within the city walls, an original section can be seen across the road. Through the medieval period, the site was used as a hospital and for the site of a mint – a theatre was built in 1744, and has been producing and displaying work ever since. Come and join us to find out more about the fascinating history of theatre in York and learn why there is a Georgian folly backstage, why a stage is a called a deck and why you should never whistle in a theatre.

Our expert tour guides will lead you on a 75 minute tour of the whole theatre site, before tea and scones are served in our upper foyer. 

Please note that due to the number of stairs involved on the tour, it is not currently possible to accommodate customers with impaired mobility.

Please contact Box Office on 01904 623568 or boxoffice@yorktheatreroyal.co.uk for any dietary requirements.


TOUR DATES

FEBRUARY

Fri 15 February, Sat 16 February, Fri 22 February, Sat 23 February

MARCH

Fri 01 March, Sat 02 March, Fri 08 March, Sat 09 March, Fri 15 March, Sat 16 March, Fri 22 March, Sat 23 March

APRIL

Fri 05 April, Sat 06 April, Sat 13 April, Fri 26 April, Sat 27 April

MAY

Fri 03 May, Sat 04 May, Fri 10 May, Sat 11 May, Fri 17 May, Sat 18 May, Fri 24 May, Sat 25 May, Fri 31 May

JUNE

Sat 01 June, Fri 14 June, Sat 15 June, Fri 21 June, Sat 22 June, Fri 28 June, Sat 29 June