Box Office: 01904 623568

Today's Shows

There are no shows today. Please check our calendar for shows on other days.

Search

Search by Genre

Drama

Within This Landscape

Within This Landscape

Sat 23 Aug - Mon 25 Aug

1984

1984

Tue 16 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Mon 11 Aug - Sun 21 Sep

Regeneration

Regeneration

Tue 23 Sep - Sat 27 Sep

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Betrayal

Betrayal

Fri 03 Oct - Sat 18 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Kite Runner

The Kite Runner

Mon 27 Oct - Sat 01 Nov

Helver's Night

Helver's Night

Thu 30 Oct - Sat 08 Nov

Hanging Hooke

Hanging Hooke

Sat 15 Nov

The Woman In Black

The Woman In Black

Mon 17 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

She Stoops to Conquer

She Stoops to Conquer

Tue 25 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

A View From The Bridge

A View From The Bridge

Fri 13 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

Family

The Wind In The Willows

The Wind In The Willows

Thu 31 Jul - Sat 30 Aug

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Puss In Boots

Puss In Boots

Wed 10 Dec - Sat 03 Jan

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Comedy

The Importance Of Being Earnest

The Importance Of Being Earnest

Fri 11 Jul - Sun 17 Aug

Noel James

Noel James

Thu 13 Nov

Dance

Summer Big Band

Summer Big Band

Sat 30 Aug

Perform Rises

Perform Rises

Sat 04 Oct

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Wed 12 Nov - Thu 13 Nov

Burns Night Ceilidh

Burns Night Ceilidh

Sat 24 Jan

Pantomime

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Contemporary Drama

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

Thu 09 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

CELL

CELL

Mon 10 Nov

Jonny Got His Gun

Jonny Got His Gun

Tue 11 Nov

Birthday Suit Party

Birthday Suit Party

Wed 12 Nov

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

More Tales from Kafka

More Tales from Kafka

Tue 18 Nov - Thu 20 Nov

Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice

Fri 21 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

General

Community Amateur

The Three Musketeers

The Three Musketeers

Wed 23 Jul - Sun 10 Aug

Iolanthe

Iolanthe

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

The Pirates Of Penzance

The Pirates Of Penzance

Wed 05 Nov - Sat 08 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Rehearsed Reading

Music

Musicals

Ghost The Musical

Ghost The Musical

Fri 08 Aug - Sat 16 Aug

Opera

Childrens

Play In A Week - 8-11s

Play In A Week - 8-11s

Mon 11 Aug - Sat 16 Aug

The Wind In The Willows

The Wind In The Willows

Thu 31 Jul - Sat 30 Aug

The Princess and the Pea

The Princess and the Pea

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 04 Oct

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Physical Theatre

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

Workshop

Play In A Week - 8-11s

Play In A Week - 8-11s

Mon 11 Aug - Sat 16 Aug

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Independent- Review: Rutherford and Son

Mon 04 Mar 2013

Written by Holly Williams

 

 

Rutherford & Son (Playhouse, Oxford ****)  features a young woman parachuted into a world of frosty relations and upper-class pretensions. Again, generation gaps and a struggle for upward social mobility are dramatised, albeit in a rather more serious tone.

Mary moved in with her husband's overbearing father, John Rutherford, for the sake of her infant son's health. Rutherford runs the home with tyrannical force, and is prepared to sacrifice the happiness of his three children for the success of his glass-making company.

Written by Githa Sowerby in 1912 – when it was rare for a woman to pen a play, let alone a smash hit – it was based on her grandfather, and set in Newcastle. This fine revival, showcasing the impressive muscularity of her writing, is by Northern Broadsides. Blake Morrison transposes the action smoothly to Yorkshire, sprinkling nowts and 'appens over the script. Jonathan Miller directs an assured production, led by company founder Barrie Rutter as Rutherford – a role that could have been written for him.

A light box functions as an ornate glass ceiling; the room is stiffly furnished in polished wood, gloomy but for a few candles in a December chill. Miller likens the text to Chekhov, but in its unravelling of bruised relationships, thwarted ambitions and family secrets, it even prefigures later American writers such as Eugene O'Neill or Arthur Miller.

Catherine Kinsella as Mary is ardent, humane, intelligent – believable as both the only high-minded inhabitant of the house, and a surprisingly shrewd businesswoman. Nicholas Shaw as her husband is twitchy, fluttery, a little too petulant. In contrast, forelock-tugging worker Martin (Richard Standing) succeeds through stillness. A tricky character; Miller makes him the stoical, silent type, and it works. And Sara Poyzer as daughter Janet is so bitter that when she finally speaks truth to power, raging at Rutherford, it's with such acidity that the audience recoils.

But she's nothing on Rutter's Rutherford. He puffs out his chest, commanding all hearth and home – and the auditorium too. There is dark humour in his scathing comments, but Rutter lets us see this domineering patriarch's own internal tragedy, while still punching home his destructive cruelty. Weighty stuff, in the best possible way.

 

http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/theatre-dance/reviews/theatre-review-trelawny-of-the-wells--heres-to-us-theatre-people-to-the-corps-8517903.html

 

click here to find out more