Box Office: 01904 623568

Today's Shows

There are no shows today. Please check our calendar for shows on other days.

Search

Search by Genre

Drama

1984

1984

Tue 16 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Mon 11 Aug - Sun 21 Sep

Regeneration

Regeneration

Tue 23 Sep - Sat 27 Sep

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Betrayal

Betrayal

Fri 03 Oct - Sat 18 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Kite Runner

The Kite Runner

Mon 27 Oct - Sat 01 Nov

Helver's Night

Helver's Night

Thu 30 Oct - Sat 08 Nov

Hanging Hooke

Hanging Hooke

Sat 15 Nov

The Woman In Black

The Woman In Black

Mon 17 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

She Stoops to Conquer

She Stoops to Conquer

Tue 25 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

A View From The Bridge

A View From The Bridge

Fri 13 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

Family

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Puss In Boots

Puss In Boots

Wed 10 Dec - Sat 03 Jan

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Comedy

Noel James

Noel James

Thu 13 Nov

Dance

Perform Rises

Perform Rises

Sat 04 Oct

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Wed 12 Nov - Thu 13 Nov

Burns Night Ceilidh

Burns Night Ceilidh

Sat 24 Jan

Pantomime

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Contemporary Drama

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

Thu 09 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

CELL

CELL

Mon 10 Nov

Jonny Got His Gun

Jonny Got His Gun

Tue 11 Nov

Birthday Suit Party

Birthday Suit Party

Wed 12 Nov

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

More Tales from Kafka

More Tales from Kafka

Tue 18 Nov - Thu 20 Nov

Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice

Fri 21 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

General

Community Amateur

Iolanthe

Iolanthe

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

The Pirates Of Penzance

The Pirates Of Penzance

Wed 05 Nov - Sat 08 Nov

Les Misérables School Edition

Les Misérables School Edition

Fri 31 Oct - Sat 08 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Our Day Out - The Musical

Our Day Out - The Musical

Sat 21 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

The History Boys

The History Boys

Fri 20 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

Rehearsed Reading

Music

Musicals

Anything Goes

Anything Goes

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

Opera

Childrens

The Princess and the Pea

The Princess and the Pea

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 04 Oct

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Physical Theatre

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

Workshop

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

The Kirkbymoorside Town Blog - Review: Lilies on the Land

Thu 26 Apr 2012

Written by Jean Richards, Theatre Editor, The Kirkbymoorside Town Blog

 

In 1939, with the onset of war, it became apparent that more food needed to be grown in Britain, and that there were fewer men available to work the land. The simple solution was the formation of the Women’s Land Army – commonly called ‘Land Girls’ – to replace the men in field and farm. Until the last decade or so, their huge contribution to the war effort was largely overlooked in histories and memorials, but latterly they have received due – if disgracefully overdue – recognition, officially with the award of medals to survivors, and popularly in the film ‘Land Girls’, and the TV series of the same name.

I wondered, therefore, if there was enough left to be said to sustain the play ‘Lilies on the Land’ now showing at York Theatre Royal. And it was advertised as ‘touching’, and ‘heart-warming’, the sort of adjectives which ring alarm bells with someone who likes her theatre with guts. But the origin of the piece was interesting. The curiously named company ‘the Lions part ‘ became interested in the land girls while devising a companion piece to a play about prisoners of war, and invited recollections from surviving land girls, from which 'Lilies' was developed.

To call ‘Lilies’ a play is somewhat misleading. Four actors are on stage the whole time, each representing a composite land girl character: well-heeled Poppy, Vera, longing for escape, sheltered Geordie Margie, and resourceful Londoner Peggy. Their words are largely taken from the submitted reminiscences, tailored into topics, and interspersed with songs, sketches and original radio broadcasts. And it works very well, chiefly because it is never romanticised.

Yes they went to dances, and one of them ends up married to a farm worker. But what comes over most clearly is the hard, unremitting, dirty, physical labour that was involved, and their determination not to give up, not so much for the war effort perhaps as to win the respect of the farmers who thought they couldn’t do it. If you have teenage daughters, take them to see this, and imagine the lives of these women, only seventy years ago.

Read the review on the Kirkbymooreside Town Blog here

 

 

click here to find out more