Box Office: 01904 623568

Search

Search by Genre

Drama

1984

1984

Tue 16 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Mon 11 Aug - Sun 21 Sep

Regeneration

Regeneration

Tue 23 Sep - Sat 27 Sep

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Betrayal

Betrayal

Fri 03 Oct - Sat 18 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Kite Runner

The Kite Runner

Mon 27 Oct - Sat 01 Nov

Helver's Night

Helver's Night

Thu 30 Oct - Sat 08 Nov

Hanging Hooke

Hanging Hooke

Sat 15 Nov

The Woman In Black

The Woman In Black

Mon 17 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

She Stoops to Conquer

She Stoops to Conquer

Tue 25 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

A View From The Bridge

A View From The Bridge

Fri 13 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

Family

The Wind In The Willows

The Wind In The Willows

Thu 31 Jul - Sat 30 Aug

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Puss In Boots

Puss In Boots

Wed 10 Dec - Sat 03 Jan

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Comedy

Noel James

Noel James

Thu 13 Nov

Dance

Summer Big Band

Summer Big Band

Sat 30 Aug

Perform Rises

Perform Rises

Sat 04 Oct

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Wed 12 Nov - Thu 13 Nov

Burns Night Ceilidh

Burns Night Ceilidh

Sat 24 Jan

Pantomime

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Contemporary Drama

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

Thu 09 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

CELL

CELL

Mon 10 Nov

Jonny Got His Gun

Jonny Got His Gun

Tue 11 Nov

Birthday Suit Party

Birthday Suit Party

Wed 12 Nov

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

More Tales from Kafka

More Tales from Kafka

Tue 18 Nov - Thu 20 Nov

Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice

Fri 21 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

General

Community Amateur

Iolanthe

Iolanthe

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

The Pirates Of Penzance

The Pirates Of Penzance

Wed 05 Nov - Sat 08 Nov

Les Misérables School Edition

Les Misérables School Edition

Fri 31 Oct - Sat 08 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Our Day Out - The Musical

Our Day Out - The Musical

Sat 21 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

The History Boys

The History Boys

Fri 20 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

Rehearsed Reading

Music

Musicals

Anything Goes

Anything Goes

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

Opera

Childrens

The Wind In The Willows

The Wind In The Willows

Thu 31 Jul - Sat 30 Aug

The Princess and the Pea

The Princess and the Pea

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 04 Oct

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Physical Theatre

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

Workshop

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

The Yorker - Review: Robin Hood and his Merry Mam!

Mon 17 Dec 2012

Written by Katharine Wootton

 

There are those that like their panto am-dram style, full of local gags, the farce of faulty props, fluffed lines and the allure of seeing the same panto culprits year in year out making a fool of themselves in tights in a chilly church hall. Then there are others who prefer panto’s more glamorous glitter-clad twin, sparkling with X-Factor rejects and Coronation Street extras. Yet in Robin Hood and His Merry Mam, the latest offering from the zany world of Berwick Kaler, these two faces of panto come together (minus the dodgy third-rate celebs) with full-bodied local enthusiasm playing out among spectacular sets and stunning sparkle to a thronging audience.

Determined to defy the curse of formulaic panto (don’t worry the he’s behind you’s and copious amounts of Wagon Wheels aren't going to go anywhere), Robin Hood succeeds in sustaining the attention of excitable tots, apathetic teens and Christmas-harassed parents by a constant unpredictability. From fat suits to a breath-takingly funny film featuring some rather bemused pensioners, you very quickly realise that is is not a panto from which you should expect much sense and sanity. Roughly following the trials of Robin Hood (played masterfully and rather handsomely by Vincent Gray) as he seeks to right the monarchy with the help of Marian (played with shrill girlishness and wide-eyed innocence by Suzy Cooper), Kaler’s script only just about manages to hold onto a basic coherent story- but who needs a plot anyway?

Not afraid to throw in some hell of a curveball with wincingly touchy contemporary references (Catholic monks certainly get a raw deal in Kaler’s hands), there are plenty of times when the crowds of adults force back belly laughs in the face of clearly bewildered children- an evident sign that panto has never been just for kids, even if this sometimes seems to leave the children a bit lost. And the audience aren’t the only ones at the edge of their seats to see what the dame does next with Kaler’s ceaseless antics seeing the cast also forced to reign in giggles. But however much anarchy Kaler as the master of improv might bring, it’s very true that you cannot help but keep glancing at the wings waiting for his next moment on stage, willing the madness to continue.

But away from all the silliness and humour, what is especially engaging about Robin Hood is the attention to detail and masterful precision paid in every aspect of the production. From the stunning costumes glittering with intricate patterns and ingenious design to the constantly changing technicolour sets both by Phil R Daniels and Charles Cusick Smith, no stone was left unturned when it came to the visual effect of the show. Brendan Matthew’s challenging yet top-notch choreography excellently performed by the cast and ensemble is also particularly worth note as some of the most creative choreography I have seen in a pantomime. A couple of charming Beatrix Potter-esque scenes also added some much needed sweetness and light to the evening’s proceedings as Mr and Mrs Badger along with the Hedgehogs’ and many other woodland couples all with a rather strange hybrid blend of Yorkshire, Somerset and Brummie accents created theatre magic.

Suitable for the die-hard Kaler fans and York panto virgins like myself alike, Robin Hood and His Merry Mam! is a vibrant and barmy production stamped with simple good-willing Yorkshire charm that gets you fired and filled up with enough pantomime frolics to fuel you through the year.

Read the review on The Yorker website.

 

 

 

click here to find out more