Box Office: 01904 623568

Today's Shows

There are no shows today. Please check our calendar for shows on other days.

Search

Search by Genre

Drama

Within This Landscape

Within This Landscape

Sat 23 Aug - Mon 25 Aug

1984

1984

Tue 16 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Mon 11 Aug - Sun 21 Sep

Regeneration

Regeneration

Tue 23 Sep - Sat 27 Sep

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Betrayal

Betrayal

Fri 03 Oct - Sat 18 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Kite Runner

The Kite Runner

Mon 27 Oct - Sat 01 Nov

Helver's Night

Helver's Night

Thu 30 Oct - Sat 08 Nov

Hanging Hooke

Hanging Hooke

Sat 15 Nov

The Woman In Black

The Woman In Black

Mon 17 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

She Stoops to Conquer

She Stoops to Conquer

Tue 25 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

A View From The Bridge

A View From The Bridge

Fri 13 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

Family

The Wind In The Willows

The Wind In The Willows

Thu 31 Jul - Sat 30 Aug

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Puss In Boots

Puss In Boots

Wed 10 Dec - Sat 03 Jan

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Comedy

The Importance Of Being Earnest

The Importance Of Being Earnest

Fri 11 Jul - Sun 17 Aug

Noel James

Noel James

Thu 13 Nov

Dance

Summer Big Band

Summer Big Band

Sat 30 Aug

Perform Rises

Perform Rises

Sat 04 Oct

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Wed 12 Nov - Thu 13 Nov

Burns Night Ceilidh

Burns Night Ceilidh

Sat 24 Jan

Pantomime

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Contemporary Drama

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

Thu 09 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

Cell

Cell

Mon 10 Nov

Jonny Got His Gun

Jonny Got His Gun

Tue 11 Nov

Birthday Suit Party

Birthday Suit Party

Wed 12 Nov

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

More Tales from Kafka

More Tales from Kafka

Tue 18 Nov - Thu 20 Nov

Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice

Fri 21 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

General

Community Amateur

The Three Musketeers

The Three Musketeers

Wed 23 Jul - Sun 10 Aug

Iolanthe

Iolanthe

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

The Pirates Of Penzance

The Pirates Of Penzance

Wed 05 Nov - Sat 08 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Rehearsed Reading

Music

Musicals

Ghost The Musical

Ghost The Musical

Fri 08 Aug - Sat 16 Aug

Opera

Childrens

Play In A Week - 8-11s

Play In A Week - 8-11s

Mon 11 Aug - Sat 16 Aug

The Wind In The Willows

The Wind In The Willows

Thu 31 Jul - Sat 30 Aug

The Princess and the Pea

The Princess and the Pea

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 04 Oct

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Physical Theatre

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

Workshop

Play In A Week - 8-11s

Play In A Week - 8-11s

Mon 11 Aug - Sat 16 Aug

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

The Northern Echo - Review: Robin Hood and his Merry Mam!

Mon 17 Dec 2012

Written by Steve Pratt

 

There are certain things audiences expect from a panto at York Theatre Royal. Familiar faces, a new script full of old gags and visual jokes, Martin Barrass being skippy and silly, a chorus of professional dancers, good songs, great costumes, a guest appearance by the BBC’s Harry Gration and, of course, Dame Berwick Kaler himself (now in his 34th year – that’s the number of Theatre Royal panto appearances not his age).

This year’s extravaganza Robin Hood And His Merry Mam doesn’t disappoint on any of those counts. Nor does it fail, as usual at the start of the run, to be too long, although co-directors Kaler and Damian Cruden will surely snip ten or 15 minutes from the running time so audiences don’t get too much of a good thing.

And Robin Hood is mostly very good indeed with – this is the real shock – a plot (the one thing that Kaler usually forgets) about Robin saving the royal babes in the wood from the evil Sheriff of Nottingham.

Not for nothing is the story set in a town called Hamalot, not so much a name as a critique of the acting.

What’s different this year is a new baddie with Jonathan Race easily inciting boos as the evil Sheriff of Nottingham.

He plays it straight and is all the funnier/ scarier because of that.

Martin Barrass has childish fun as a sheriff, the first Archbishop of York and carrot (a little something for vegetarians in the audience) and Suzy Cooper’s chirpy, sexy Marian’s big song is ingeniously mixed with one of the two filmed excerpts. The second film finds Kaler embracing gangnam-style with a quite splendid number called Panto Style.

Vincent Gray returns after a two-year absence as heroic Robin, Sian Howard has twice the fun as Lady Hamalot and Broomhilda. AJ Powell’s fabulous legs are back, supporting a performer who’s risen from the ranks of the chorus and proved himself an all-round panto performer.

As for Kaler, he delivers twice. First with a script that’s a mix of the old and the new, the traditional and the innovative. As a performer he’s still funny, fearless and always mindful of his audience.

Read the review on The Northern Echo website.

 

 

click here to find out more