• Building a Theatre for the future

  • Thu 18 Sep 2014 - Sat 04 Oct 2014
  • Fri 03 Oct 2014 - Sat 18 Oct 2014
  • Thu 09 Oct 2014 - Sat 25 Oct 2014
  • Tue 21 Oct 2014 - Sat 25 Oct 2014
  • Mon 27 Oct 2014 - Sat 01 Nov 2014
  • Mon 10 Nov 2014 - Sat 15 Nov 2014
  • The Woman In Black

    Mon 17 Nov 2014 - Sat 22 Nov 2014
  • She Stoops to Conquer

    Tue 25 Nov 2014 - Sat 29 Nov 2014
  • Thu 11 Dec 2014 - Sat 31 Jan 2015
  • Puss In Boots

    Wed 10 Dec 2014 - Sat 03 Jan 2015
  • Fri 13 Feb 2015 - Sat 28 Feb 2015
Previous Next

What's On

Box Office Opening Times

Mon - Sat 10am - 8pm (6pm on non-performance evenings)

Sun - CLOSED

Getting Here

York Theatre Royal is situated in the heart of York, in the shadow of York Minster. York Railway station is just 10 minutes walk away with excellent connections to the rest of the UK. A number of local bus services stop directly outside the theatre including numbers 1, 5, 6, 19B, 29, 30, 30X, 31, 31X, 40, 58 and M15. For information on bus routes and times, please visit the First website.

The Theatre is approximately 40 minutes drive from Harrogate, 45 minutes from Leeds (city centre), 1hr from Hull and 30 minutes from junction 45 of the A1(M). There are a number of car parks close to the Theatre, but space can be limited so please allow enough time to park and walk in. The city centre car parks can be expensive, so you may want to use Yorks Park&Ride scheme for a day visit.

Please note, from Jan - Apr 2013 the small City of York Council car park directly opposite the theatre will be closed. The nearest Car Parks are Bootham Row and Marygate.

Walking Directions

Turn left from the main entrance of the station and continue past the Royal York Hotel, straight over the cross roads. Follow the road under the city walls, then turn left and over Lendal Bridge. You will see the Minster in front of you as you pass the York Museum Gardens on the left. At the cross roads turn left and York Theatre Royal is in front of you on the right hand side of the road. The De Grey Rooms is immediately adjacent.

Our address

York Theatre Royal,
St. Leonard’s Place,
York
YO1 7HD


View York Theatre Royal in a larger map