Box Office: 01904 623568

Today's Shows

There are no shows today. Please check our calendar for shows on other days.

Inspire me

Search

Search by Genre

Drama

1984

1984

Tue 16 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Mon 11 Aug - Sun 21 Sep

Regeneration

Regeneration

Tue 23 Sep - Sat 27 Sep

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Betrayal

Betrayal

Fri 03 Oct - Sat 18 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Kite Runner

The Kite Runner

Mon 27 Oct - Sat 01 Nov

Helver's Night

Helver's Night

Thu 30 Oct - Sat 08 Nov

Hanging Hooke

Hanging Hooke

Sat 15 Nov

The Woman In Black

The Woman In Black

Mon 17 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

She Stoops to Conquer

She Stoops to Conquer

Tue 25 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

A View From The Bridge

A View From The Bridge

Fri 13 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

Family

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Puss In Boots

Puss In Boots

Wed 10 Dec - Sat 03 Jan

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Comedy

Noel James

Noel James

Thu 13 Nov

Dance

Perform Rises

Perform Rises

Sat 04 Oct

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Wed 12 Nov - Thu 13 Nov

Burns Night Ceilidh

Burns Night Ceilidh

Sat 24 Jan

Pantomime

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Contemporary Drama

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

Thu 09 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

CELL

CELL

Mon 10 Nov

Jonny Got His Gun

Jonny Got His Gun

Tue 11 Nov

Birthday Suit Party

Birthday Suit Party

Wed 12 Nov

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

More Tales from Kafka

More Tales from Kafka

Tue 18 Nov - Thu 20 Nov

Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice

Fri 21 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

General

Community Amateur

Iolanthe

Iolanthe

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

The Pirates Of Penzance

The Pirates Of Penzance

Wed 05 Nov - Sat 08 Nov

Les Misérables School Edition

Les Misérables School Edition

Fri 31 Oct - Sat 08 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Our Day Out - The Musical

Our Day Out - The Musical

Sat 21 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

The History Boys

The History Boys

Fri 20 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

Rehearsed Reading

Music

Musicals

Anything Goes

Anything Goes

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

Opera

Childrens

The Princess and the Pea

The Princess and the Pea

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 04 Oct

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Physical Theatre

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

Workshop

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Getting here

York Theatre Royal is situated in the heart of York, in the shadow of York Minster. York Railway station is just 10 minutes walk away with excellent connections to the rest of the UK. A number of local bus services stop directly outside the theatre including numbers 1, 5, 6, 19B, 29, 30, 30X, 31, 31X, 40, 58 and M15. For information on bus routes and times, please visit the First website.

The Theatre is approximately 40 minutes drive from Harrogate, 45 minutes from Leeds (city centre), 1hr from Hull and 30 minutes from junction 45 of the A1(M). There are a number of car parks close to the Theatre, but space can be limited so please allow enough time to park and walk in. The city centre car parks can be expensive, so you may want to use Yorks Park&Ride scheme for a day visit.

Please note, from Jan - Apr 2013 the small City of York Council car park directly opposite the theatre will be closed. The nearest Car Parks are Bootham Row and Marygate.

Walking Directions

Turn left from the main entrance of the station and continue past the Royal York Hotel, straight over the cross roads. Follow the road under the city walls, then turn left and over Lendal Bridge. You will see the Minster in front of you as you pass the York Museum Gardens on the left. At the cross roads turn left and York Theatre Royal is in front of you on the right hand side of the road. The De Grey Rooms is immediately adjacent.

 

Our address

York Theatre Royal,
St. Leonard’s Place,
York
YO1 7HD

 


View York Theatre Royal in a larger map

 

Getting here