Box Office: 01904 623568

Today's Shows

There are no shows today. Please check our calendar for shows on other days.

Inspire me

Search

Search by Genre

Drama

1984

1984

Tue 16 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Mon 11 Aug - Sun 21 Sep

Regeneration

Regeneration

Tue 23 Sep - Sat 27 Sep

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Betrayal

Betrayal

Fri 03 Oct - Sat 18 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Kite Runner

The Kite Runner

Mon 27 Oct - Sat 01 Nov

Helver's Night

Helver's Night

Thu 30 Oct - Sat 08 Nov

Hanging Hooke

Hanging Hooke

Sat 15 Nov

The Woman In Black

The Woman In Black

Mon 17 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

She Stoops to Conquer

She Stoops to Conquer

Tue 25 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

A View From The Bridge

A View From The Bridge

Fri 13 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

Family

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Puss In Boots

Puss In Boots

Wed 10 Dec - Sat 03 Jan

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Comedy

Noel James

Noel James

Thu 13 Nov

Dance

Perform Rises

Perform Rises

Sat 04 Oct

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Wed 12 Nov - Thu 13 Nov

Burns Night Ceilidh

Burns Night Ceilidh

Sat 24 Jan

Pantomime

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Contemporary Drama

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

Thu 09 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

CELL

CELL

Mon 10 Nov

Jonny Got His Gun

Jonny Got His Gun

Tue 11 Nov

Birthday Suit Party

Birthday Suit Party

Wed 12 Nov

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

More Tales from Kafka

More Tales from Kafka

Tue 18 Nov - Thu 20 Nov

Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice

Fri 21 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

General

Community Amateur

Iolanthe

Iolanthe

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

The Pirates Of Penzance

The Pirates Of Penzance

Wed 05 Nov - Sat 08 Nov

Les Misérables School Edition

Les Misérables School Edition

Fri 31 Oct - Sat 08 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Our Day Out - The Musical

Our Day Out - The Musical

Sat 21 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

The History Boys

The History Boys

Fri 20 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

Rehearsed Reading

Music

Musicals

Anything Goes

Anything Goes

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

Opera

Childrens

The Princess and the Pea

The Princess and the Pea

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 04 Oct

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Physical Theatre

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

Workshop

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Exhibition Spaces

Our exhibition spaces are an ever-changing showcase of local artists. From photography and watercolour, to pottery and collage, you never know what you might find.

Interested in exhibiting at York Theatre Royal? Get in touch via our Contact page.

 

The Keregan Room:

Maintenant - A Conceptual Sound Art Installation by award winning artist, Lee Lewis. 

Exhibition Corridor:

Robert W Brumby - Des RCA

Hall Cottage

Sheriff Hutton Park

York

YO60 6RJ

01347 878 353

rwbrumby@yahoo.co.uk

 

Influences and Inspirations

Robert was born on the edge of the Yorkshire Wolds and, since childhood, has been fascinated and inspired by this spacious landscape where you can see for miles across a vast foreground. He has enjoyed celebrating this aspect in his work along with the patter and texture, marks of ploughing and planting, of man-made tracks and barns, as well as the seasonal changes from poppies threaded through cornfields to the umber colours of autumn are features he has extensively explored.

For a number of years, Robert divided his time between his native Yorkshire and the Languedoc in the South of France. The Languedoc provided, for him, a very different landscape - proximal and hence more intimate, leading to a greater focus on foreground than distance. However, his interest in the pattern and texture of the landscape remained and, indeed, there is an underlying interest in pattern in much of his work, including his portraiture and representational art. He is fascinated with trees and the ways in which light is filtered through tangled, overlapping branches. Some of his paintings are drawn from such details, which are enlarged as if through a zoom lens, focusing on the sun or moon permeating through.

Recent work has included a series of seascapes inspired by the Northumbrian coast. Again, the sense of space and openness, the large foregrounds and the infinite recessions give a feeling of peace and tranquillity. However, the simplicity of the seascape is in marked contrast to the more complex detail celebrated in other aspects of his work.

Robert has worked across a broad range of media, two-dimensionally and three-dimensionally. Many of his three-dimensional pieces have been a celebration of the human form, while others are a suggestion of pollarded trees, shells, crabs, birds and other organics forms. Over the last ten years his work has been mainly two-dimensional with a significant proportion of this work in portrait commissions. Portrait painting has presented a fascinating challenge in revealing, subtly, a personality behind a public façade. For portrait commissions, Robert has typically chosen to work in the centuries-old medium of tempera.

Drawing has always been , and strongly remains, an important element in his work as is the craftsmanship of the final piece. He continues to find that experimenting with different materials and processes gives rise to new ideas. For example, the advent of the digital pen has provided an opportunity to draw through a digital medium, requiring the same drawing precision and eye to hand coordination, but allowing the production of limited edition prints that can reach broader audiences than other art forms.

About the Artist

Robert Brumby’s formal art training began in Hull at the age of thirteen, culminating in his later graduation from the Royal College of Art. Following a number of years as a designer in the ceramics industry, he set up his own studio/ gallery in The Shambles in York where he designed and produced murals, architectural sculpture, paintings, ceramic sculpture and functional stoneware for domestic use. His work gained national and international recognition and he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of British Sculpture. After many years of art education and lecturing, he became Head of the York School of Art and Design in 1990.

Robert has exhibited widely in commercial and public galleries, including the Royal Academy, and has carried out major commissions for schools, universities, hospitals and churches, notably the ceramic reredos for the Church of St Augustine’s, Manchester (now a listed building), the three-metre ceramic Madonna and Child statue for the Cathedral of Christ the king, Liverpool and the painted reredos for the Cathedral of St Mary’s, Middlesbrough. His work is in public and private collections in the UK, America, Canada and mainland Europe. Robert has been profiled in documentaries for Tyne Tees, Yorkshire Television and the Canadian Broadcasting Service.

 

Art Exhibition Spaces Art Exhibition Spaces Art Exhibition Spaces