There are no shows today. Please check our calendar for shows on other days.
Thanks to York Conservation Trust for this spectacular 360 image
A Little History…
The De Grey Rooms were built in 1841 and paid for by public subscriptions of £5,000 in shares of £25 each, forty of which were subscribed by the Yorkshire Hussars.
The rooms were designed by George Townsend Andrews who was born in Exeter in 1804 and came to York after winning a competition to design an extension to York Castle (prison) in 1831-2. He continue to work in York on the development of St Leonard’s Place and eventually became the Sheriff from 1846-7.
Formed in 1793 The Yorkshire Hussars made use of the De Grey Rooms as their Officers' mess. The Colonel of the regiment was Thomas Philip 2nd Earl De Grey, a prominent member of the local aristocracy, for whom the De Grey Rooms were named.
The De Grey Rooms in 1950
Through the last Century…
The Ballroom has a rich history of dining and dancing. The John Barry Seven would most certainly have entertained here, and countless couples would have courted during and after World War II.
The chandeliers were made in 1952 in Holland by an Italian designer; replacing the original candelabra which hung from the central rose motifes and were lowered by a winding mechanism.
The basement of the De Grey Rooms housed the original kitchens, cold rooms, wine cellars and storage facilities. The Oak Room; previously the kitchen, spent the 1950’s and 60’s as a restaurant and is now the home of York Theatre Royal’s wardrobe and costume hire department.
De Grey House was built in 1835 and was a private residence until 1909 when it became a doctors surgery and was later used by the York Conservation Club with the addition of an extension at the back for a billiards hall.
The De Grey Rooms and De Grey House are both Grade II listed properties and lie just within the area of the original Roman Fort in York. The iconic clock at the front of De Grey House is still wound once a week by a friend of the grandson of the clock maker.
In 2005 York Conservation Trust purchased both buildings, the ground floor was used by the Tourist Information Centre while the Oak Room, bar and ballroom were leased by York Theatre Royal for use by their youth theatre groups.
2010 saw the Theatre move into the whole of the de Grey Rooms following extensive restoration and the installation of a lift to allow disabled access.
In 2011 York Theatre Royal formally re-opened the De Grey Rooms to the public and The De Grey Ballroom, Cocktail Bar and Workshop rooms are available for private and corporate hire for a range of different occasions.
Perfectly situated in the centre of the City the spectacular Ballroom has the capacity to seat up to 120 for a formal dinner with room for a dance floor. Larger parties can be accommodated for up to 170 people. The Ballroom is particularly suited to wedding receptions, corporate and celebratory dinners and charity balls, as well as more informal parties and conference activities.
The Theatre can provide reception drinks, wine and a full bar for any event. We work in partnership with professional outside caterers to offer a wide range of buffet and formal dining menus.
For further information, please contact
Lindsay Whitwell, Events Co-ordinator:
You can also follow The De Grey Rooms on Twitter @DeGreyRooms