Box Office: 01904 623568

Today's Shows

There are no shows today. Please check our calendar for shows on other days.

Search

Search by Genre

Drama

Within This Landscape

Within This Landscape

Sat 23 Aug - Mon 25 Aug

1984

1984

Tue 16 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Mon 11 Aug - Sun 21 Sep

Regeneration

Regeneration

Tue 23 Sep - Sat 27 Sep

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Betrayal

Betrayal

Fri 03 Oct - Sat 18 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Kite Runner

The Kite Runner

Mon 27 Oct - Sat 01 Nov

Helver's Night

Helver's Night

Thu 30 Oct - Sat 08 Nov

Hanging Hooke

Hanging Hooke

Sat 15 Nov

The Woman In Black

The Woman In Black

Mon 17 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

She Stoops to Conquer

She Stoops to Conquer

Tue 25 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

A View From The Bridge

A View From The Bridge

Fri 13 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

Family

The Wind In The Willows

The Wind In The Willows

Thu 31 Jul - Sat 30 Aug

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Puss In Boots

Puss In Boots

Wed 10 Dec - Sat 03 Jan

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Comedy

The Importance Of Being Earnest

The Importance Of Being Earnest

Fri 11 Jul - Sun 17 Aug

Noel James

Noel James

Thu 13 Nov

Dance

Summer Big Band

Summer Big Band

Sat 30 Aug

Perform Rises

Perform Rises

Sat 04 Oct

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Wed 12 Nov - Thu 13 Nov

Burns Night Ceilidh

Burns Night Ceilidh

Sat 24 Jan

Pantomime

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Contemporary Drama

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

Thu 09 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

Cell

Cell

Mon 10 Nov

Jonny Got His Gun

Jonny Got His Gun

Tue 11 Nov

Birthday Suit Party

Birthday Suit Party

Wed 12 Nov

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

More Tales from Kafka

More Tales from Kafka

Tue 18 Nov - Thu 20 Nov

Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice

Fri 21 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

General

Community Amateur

The Three Musketeers

The Three Musketeers

Wed 23 Jul - Sun 10 Aug

Iolanthe

Iolanthe

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

The Pirates Of Penzance

The Pirates Of Penzance

Wed 05 Nov - Sat 08 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Rehearsed Reading

Music

Musicals

Ghost The Musical

Ghost The Musical

Fri 08 Aug - Sat 16 Aug

Opera

Childrens

Play In A Week - 8-11s

Play In A Week - 8-11s

Mon 11 Aug - Sat 16 Aug

The Wind In The Willows

The Wind In The Willows

Thu 31 Jul - Sat 30 Aug

The Princess and the Pea

The Princess and the Pea

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 04 Oct

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Physical Theatre

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

Workshop

Play In A Week - 8-11s

Play In A Week - 8-11s

Mon 11 Aug - Sat 16 Aug

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Young People Needed to be in Panto

Fri 21 Sep 2012

Fancy being part of the Pantomime?

We are on the look out for talented young performers to take part in this year’s fabulously original pantomime, Robin Hood and His Merry Mam! If you’re a super singer or a marvellous mover, maybe you should audition for York Theatre Royal’s world famous pantomime!

To take part in auditions, children are required to be less than 5’0” tall and aged between 8 and 11 years old. Some previous acting/singing/ dancing experience is preferred, but is not essential.  If you match these requirements and are also full of energy, enthusiasm and would love the opportunity to perform in front of an audience, you could be joining Berwick Kaler and his cast of York panto legends on the York Theatre Royal Main House stage!

Rehearsals will take place during the end of November (dates to be confirmed), mostly on evenings and weekends; there will be two teams of young people who will alternate performances. Performances take place between Thu 13 Dec 12 and Sat 2 Feb 13, including some midweek matinee performances during term time (There will be no performances on 25 Dec).

If you would like to join the cast and feel that you and your family can make a strong commitment to the pantomime, you are encouraged to come along and audition.

Auditions will take place at York Theatre Royal’s De Grey Rooms on

Saturday 29 September 2012

On the day, just come along to the De Grey building (next door to the Main Theatre building). Auditions will then be held in the Billiard Room in De Grey House. Appropriate signage and guidance will be available on the day.  

Audition schedule: At 3pm, Registration for surnames A-K will take place in workshop 2. Auditions for these surnames will take place from 3.30pm – 4.30pm. At 5pm Registration for surnames L-Z will take place in workshop 2. Auditions for these surnames will take place from 5.30pm – 6.30pm. Both Auditions will be held in the Billiard Room. 

Please note: Children will need to bring a passport sized photograph of themselves and it is recommended that appropriate clothes and footwear are worn to run and dance in, alongside soft shoes - plimsolls or trainers are ideal.  During the audition, children will be asked to dance and sing in a group, and may also be asked to sight read from a script, but no preparation is required.

There is no need to contact the theatre about auditions in advance – just turn up at the De Grey building. We will also have trained chaperones on the day, so you can drop your children off and collect them after their audition if you wish.

To book tickets for Robin Hood and His Merry Mam! call our Box Office on 01904 623568, or book securely online 24hrs a day at www.yorktheatreroyal.co.uk.

 

click here to find out more