Box Office: 01904 623568

Search

Search by Genre

Drama

1984

1984

Tue 16 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Mon 11 Aug - Sun 21 Sep

Regeneration

Regeneration

Tue 23 Sep - Sat 27 Sep

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Betrayal

Betrayal

Fri 03 Oct - Sat 18 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Kite Runner

The Kite Runner

Mon 27 Oct - Sat 01 Nov

Helver's Night

Helver's Night

Thu 30 Oct - Sat 08 Nov

Hanging Hooke

Hanging Hooke

Sat 15 Nov

The Woman In Black

The Woman In Black

Mon 17 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

She Stoops to Conquer

She Stoops to Conquer

Tue 25 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

A View From The Bridge

A View From The Bridge

Fri 13 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

Family

The Wind In The Willows

The Wind In The Willows

Thu 31 Jul - Sat 30 Aug

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Puss In Boots

Puss In Boots

Wed 10 Dec - Sat 03 Jan

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Comedy

Noel James

Noel James

Thu 13 Nov

Dance

Summer Big Band

Summer Big Band

Sat 30 Aug

Perform Rises

Perform Rises

Sat 04 Oct

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Wed 12 Nov - Thu 13 Nov

Burns Night Ceilidh

Burns Night Ceilidh

Sat 24 Jan

Pantomime

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Contemporary Drama

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

Thu 09 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

CELL

CELL

Mon 10 Nov

Jonny Got His Gun

Jonny Got His Gun

Tue 11 Nov

Birthday Suit Party

Birthday Suit Party

Wed 12 Nov

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

More Tales from Kafka

More Tales from Kafka

Tue 18 Nov - Thu 20 Nov

Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice

Fri 21 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

General

Community Amateur

Iolanthe

Iolanthe

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

The Pirates Of Penzance

The Pirates Of Penzance

Wed 05 Nov - Sat 08 Nov

Les Misérables School Edition

Les Misérables School Edition

Fri 31 Oct - Sat 08 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Our Day Out - The Musical

Our Day Out - The Musical

Sat 21 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

The History Boys

The History Boys

Fri 20 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

Rehearsed Reading

Music

Musicals

Anything Goes

Anything Goes

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

Opera

Childrens

The Wind In The Willows

The Wind In The Willows

Thu 31 Jul - Sat 30 Aug

The Princess and the Pea

The Princess and the Pea

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 04 Oct

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Physical Theatre

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

Workshop

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Behind the Stage Door: Exploring York Theatre Royal, Part III

Tue 30 Oct 2012

Behind the Stage Door: Exploring York Theatre Royal, Part III

n a setting of mushroom-inspired architecture, stuffed with ghost stories, superstitions and hidden confectionary in every crevice, the story of one of York’s most significant artistic hubs has almost played out to its final act in parts I and II of the ‘Exploring York Theatre Royal’ series. Yet before the orchestra pack their bags and the heavy crimson curtains meet on this tour led by Head of Communications, Abbi Wright, more faces of this shapeshifting space and one of York’s most glamorous secrets must be revealed.

Steeped in Victorian tradition, the Theatre Royal auditorium as we see it today still rings with the opulent charm of yesteryear with the fixed proscenium stage, rich red seats and those secluded stage boxes from which audiences would enjoy variety acts, farces, musicals and the cycle of performances presented by rep companies. But whilst the audience may be able to sprawl contentedly in their seats, the performers on the York Theatre Royal stage are tasked to work extra hard, manoeuvring their way across what is one of the highest raked (or sloped) stages in the country. Raked so greatly because of skewed sight sightlines in the theatre, many companies, including Birmingham Royal Ballet, have to take extra rehearsals upon this stage so as to avoid any ballerina accidentally sliding into the orchestra pit.

Yet whilst the auditorium itself may still be enraptured in the Victorian past, behind the stage lurks an even earlier period of history. For here sits a reminder of York’s all-pervading medieval past with a Roman well situated below the stage boards on which so many actors have tread. Moving behind the stage, a wall reveals arrow slits thought to be left from the days when York defended the Royal Mint. Set up prior to the Viking invasions in England, coins, and most famously farthings, continued to be produced in our city throughout the Saxon and Norman period making it surely York’s hottest spot for a metal detector roam ever.

Therefore very literally built on money in a time of land struggles, another part of the theatre that shares a very similar history is the De Grey Rooms. Snuggled alongside the theatre and today used primarily as a rehearsal space, the De Grey rooms, built in 1841-2 and designed by famed railway architect George Townsend Andrews, were originally used as a social and events meeting place for the Yorkshire Hussars. Named after Thomas Philip de Grey, a colonel-commandant of the regiment, the rooms later played host to a programme of non-military revels, concerts, balls and dances whilst also serving at one stage as a doctor’s surgery (certainly the poshest doctors' I've ever seen). Purchased by the York Conservation Trust in 2005 and given a pricey face-lift, the upstairs ballroom, a heady glittering space of twinkling chandeliers and Disney-like fantasy, is now used as a space for weddings, functions and swing dancing.

And for such a sparkling space that undoubtedly owes itself to the little-needed excuse to get glammed up, the theatre’s costume department is nearby at hand with the basement of the De Grey Rooms opening up to a treasure trove of theatrical outfitting. Lining the descent to the costume cellar, sketches bursting with colour and imaginative extravagance preface the mine of costumes, big and small, understated and overstated, which line rack after rack in this secret little girl’s paradise.

And with that the curtain goes down on The Yorker's nosy around of York Theatre Royal. But this is most certainly not the final act for this building with ambitious plans already in place for a major renovation that will change the face of this nationally acclaimed theatre once again for the 21st century.

Read the article on The Yorker website.

 

click here to find out more