Box Office: 01904 623568

Today's Shows

There are no shows today. Please check our calendar for shows on other days.

Search

Search by Genre

Drama

Within This Landscape

Within This Landscape

Sat 23 Aug - Mon 25 Aug

1984

1984

Tue 16 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Sherlock Holmes: A Working Hypothesis

Mon 11 Aug - Sun 21 Sep

Regeneration

Regeneration

Tue 23 Sep - Sat 27 Sep

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Betrayal

Betrayal

Fri 03 Oct - Sat 18 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Kite Runner

The Kite Runner

Mon 27 Oct - Sat 01 Nov

Helver's Night

Helver's Night

Thu 30 Oct - Sat 08 Nov

Hanging Hooke

Hanging Hooke

Sat 15 Nov

The Woman In Black

The Woman In Black

Mon 17 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

She Stoops to Conquer

She Stoops to Conquer

Tue 25 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

A View From The Bridge

A View From The Bridge

Fri 13 Feb - Sat 28 Feb

Family

The Wind In The Willows

The Wind In The Willows

Thu 31 Jul - Sat 30 Aug

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Puss In Boots

Puss In Boots

Wed 10 Dec - Sat 03 Jan

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Comedy

The Importance Of Being Earnest

The Importance Of Being Earnest

Fri 11 Jul - Sun 17 Aug

Noel James

Noel James

Thu 13 Nov

Dance

Summer Big Band

Summer Big Band

Sat 30 Aug

Perform Rises

Perform Rises

Sat 04 Oct

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Phoenix Dance Theatre

Wed 12 Nov - Thu 13 Nov

Burns Night Ceilidh

Burns Night Ceilidh

Sat 24 Jan

Pantomime

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose

Thu 11 Dec - Sat 31 Jan

Contemporary Drama

Arthur Author

Arthur Author

Mon 13 Oct

Antigone

Antigone

Tue 21 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

The Restoration of Nell Gwyn

Thu 09 Oct - Sat 25 Oct

Cell

Cell

Mon 10 Nov

Jonny Got His Gun

Jonny Got His Gun

Tue 11 Nov

Birthday Suit Party

Birthday Suit Party

Wed 12 Nov

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

More Tales from Kafka

More Tales from Kafka

Tue 18 Nov - Thu 20 Nov

Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice

Fri 21 Nov - Sat 22 Nov

General

Community Amateur

The Three Musketeers

The Three Musketeers

Wed 23 Jul - Sun 10 Aug

Iolanthe

Iolanthe

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 20 Sep

The Pirates Of Penzance

The Pirates Of Penzance

Wed 05 Nov - Sat 08 Nov

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Mr Puntila And His Man Matti

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

The Circle Of Chalk

The Circle Of Chalk

Thu 27 Nov - Sat 29 Nov

Rehearsed Reading

Music

Musicals

Ghost The Musical

Ghost The Musical

Fri 08 Aug - Sat 16 Aug

Opera

Childrens

Play In A Week - 8-11s

Play In A Week - 8-11s

Mon 11 Aug - Sat 16 Aug

The Wind In The Willows

The Wind In The Willows

Thu 31 Jul - Sat 30 Aug

The Princess and the Pea

The Princess and the Pea

Thu 18 Sep - Sat 04 Oct

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Physical Theatre

Helen

Helen

Fri 14 Nov

Workshop

Play In A Week - 8-11s

Play In A Week - 8-11s

Mon 11 Aug - Sat 16 Aug

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Sing and Sign Stage 1 (6-18 Months)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Sing And Sign Stage 2 (1 - 2½ Years)

Mon 22 Sep - Mon 01 Dec

Singamajigs

Singamajigs

Tue 23 Sep - Tue 02 Dec

Story Makers

Story Makers

Wed 17 Sep - Wed 03 Dec

Blue/Orange Rehearsal Blog 2

Tue 17 Apr 2012

Mark Twain once said “The rule is perfect: in all matters of opinion our adversaries are insane.” 

This cuts to the quick of Blue/Orange.  A Senior Consultant and Junior Doctor try to deal with a sectioned young black patient.  All the while both men are pushing for different diagnoses.  Who is right?  Are they both wrong?  When it comes to psychiatry, such matters of opinion are very common in clinical practice.  Think about the much publicised debates of Sigmund Freud and Carl Jung.

The Moveable Feast

Psychiatrists seem to order less ancillary tests (blood tests, CAT scans etc.) than other doctors.  Most branches of medicine use lots of these types of tests, both to tell doctors what they cannot know e.g. the cause of an illness, as well as to provide clarification on what they think they know before they decide to act e.g. X rays to check broken bones.  In many countries there is a legal requirement that the reason for the diagnosis should be given to the patient before any action is taken.  Psychiatrists are more likely to use diagnostic interviews, questionnaires and rating scales which measure things like symptoms and risk factors.

In the play Robert, the Senior Consultant, is working on a book about a very specific area of study.  He is very much from the “old school” of psychiatry and as a result his views as perhaps seen by some junior doctors as unorthodox, possibly outdated.  But in reality, information doesn’t have to be new to be useful.  Forty years ago, psychiatrists compared the accuracy of clinical vs. statistical prediction when it was applied to the same data.  Statistical predictions were found to be at least as accurate as the judgement of trained clinicians.  The only problem lies in reliability.  One doctor’s judgement about the same data, or patient, may vary from case to case.  Likewise, judgements may vary between clinicians.  Reliability is needed for validity.  If a doctor can’t reach the same diagnosis on two occasions when using the same data, then at least one of his decisions is questionable.  And if two doctors given the same information cannot agree, then at best one, and at worst both, will be wrong.

Reliable judgements are just one side of the story.  Clinicians vary greatly in the ways they ask their patients about illness and consequently, can get very different results.  In the course of researching the play Jonathan Race, playing Junior Doctor Bruce, discovered that some psychiatrists find certain drugs and treatments more effective than others.  It is personal opinion and choice.  Which antipsychotic has gotten them the best results?  One doctor may prescribe Haloperidol for a patient, while another may prescribe something completely different.

 

Did you know?  People with dual diagnosis are likely to be among the most demanding of clients encountered by mental health practitioners.  However, people with mental health problems are one of the most isolated and impoverished groups in society.

 

John R Wilkinson
Rehearsal Assistant
Monday 16th April

blue/orange is on from Thu 26 Apr - Sat 12 May in the Studio.

 

click here to find out more